22 Apr 2009
Angelina Jolie Eying Her Own Film Franchise
The world's most bankable actress is reportedly teaming up with its biggest selling female author, according to Variety. Which essentially means Fox 2000 just got their license to print money. The studio has acquired the film rights to Patricia Cornwell's bestselling book series about medical examiner Dr. Kay Scarpetta. But just like Matt Damon's Bourne series was based on the character more than any specific Robert Ludlum plots, expect Angelina Jolie's latest to take a similar approach. Producers are touting the first film as "a suspense thriller in the vein of The Silence of the Lambs and Seven." And if all goes well with it, Angelina's got herself a tailor-made franchise; there are 16 Scarpetta novels in total. If you've read the books (which we clearly haven't), tell us: would Jolie make a good Scarpetta? And does the character translate well into a major motion picture franchise? Share
Be the first one to drop a comment
Name (Required)
Email (Will not be published - Required for Contests Only)